President Dacy Buerkle reciting her Retiring Address.

Support local journalism by subscribing today! Click Here to see our current offers.

The Plevna FFA Members held their Annual Banquet at the Plevna Community Center on May 7.

Nick Buerkle and Caiden Gray presented the flags, while Whitney and Wyatt Thielen performed the National Anthem. Kali Dulin and Whitney Thielen were the MC’s for the night, welcoming the 2020-2021 Officers to their stations.

After Opening Ceremonies, President Dacy Buerkle welcomed everyone to the meeting hall. Secretary Jaeda Paul introduced special guests in attendance for the night. Dacy led a prayer before the meal, and guests were dismissed by table for their meal provided by Road Runner Catering. Members served cookies by Kiesha Wells to the attendees, and a cake by Erin Lutz to their fellow members. While dining, Dacy Buerkle and Chloe Tudor presented the Agriscience Research Project they worked on throughout the year, “How to Identify Sperm Under a Microscope.” Following their presentation, Sophia Schumacher recited the FFA Creed. Gracie Tooke, Retired Montana State FFA Reporter, delivered her corn crop inspired Keynote Address, imploring the attendees to continue to grow. Mrs. Menees recapped awards received by the 2020-2021 Chapter Members throughout the last year. Next on the agenda, was the ceremonies for Discovery, Greenhand, and Chapter Degrees. For the 2020-2021 school year, Kalob Bollinger, Tristan Buerkle, Kali Dulin, Ella Gray, Jordan Hauff, Hayden Lane, Ethan Mellon, Trae Oberlander, and Sophia Tudor each received their Discovery Degree. The 2020-2021 Greenhand Degree recipients were Caiden Gray, Tylee Rieger, Sophia Schumacher, Whitney Thielen and Wyatt Thielen. The Chapter Degree recipients were Nick Buerkle, Jaiden Dulin and Jaeda Paul. Jenna Paul was recognized as a Montana State Degree Recipient. The 2019-2020 recipients were included in the program as well. Discovery Degree recipients were Caiden Gray, Tylee Rieger, Sophia Schumacher, Whitney Thielen and Wyatt Thielen. The 2019-2020 Greenhand Recipients were Nick Buerkle, Jaiden Dulin and Jaeda Paul. Brentan Beyers, Haydn Mellon, Cooper Peterson, Chloe Tudor, Dacy Buerkle, Bret Edgell and Jenna Paul all received their Chapter Degrees in the 2019-2020 school year. Kali Dulin received the Star Discovery Award; Sophia Schumacher was awarded Star Greenhand. Dacy Buerkle was the Star in Agricultural Placement SAE, and the Star Agriscience Award went to both Dacy Buerkle and Chloe Tudor. This year’s Star Farmer was Jenna Paul, who was also awarded Top SAE. Michael Goben was the MinnTex Fundraiser High Seller; Dacy Buerkle received the DEKALB Award. Jenna Paul was the most active member for 2020-2021, and Mr. Bruce Ketchum was honored as the Plevna FFA Honorary Member. Following awards, President Dacy Buerkle presented her Retiring Address, focusing on not letting our mistakes hold us back from achieving success. The highly anticipated event followed this, the election of the 2021-2022 Chapter Officer Team; President Chloe Tudor, Vice President Jaeda Paul, Secretary Jaiden Dulin, Treasurer Sophia Schumacher, Reporter Tylee Rieger and Sentinel Whitney Thielen. The meeting hall was adjourned by the new officer team, followed by the annual Labor Auction.


Featured Print Ads

Latest E-Edition

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

1. Be Civil. No bullying, name calling, or insults.
2. Keep it Clean and Be Nice. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
3. Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
4. Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
5. Be Proactive. Let us know of abusive posts. Multiple reports will take a comment offline.
6. Stay On Topic. Any comment that is not related to the original post will be deleted.
7. Abuse of these rules will result in the thread being disabled, comments denied, and/or user blocked.