11 CRDCs will Share $2.5 Million Over the Next Four Years

The Montana Department of Commerce today announced that 11 regionally focused economic development centers have earned recertification and will receive funding to continue serving business needs across the state for an additional four years. Eastern Plains Economic Development Corporation (EPEDC) serving, Carter, Dawson, Fallon, Prairie and Wibaux Counties is thrilled to continue this partnership with the State of Montana to offer economic development services to the region.

EPEDC is committed to providing the support needed for a better economy in eastern Montana through grant writing, business development and technical assistance. EPEDC aims to assist businesses, nonprofits and governments in promoting economic development and diversification.

“The Department of Commerce, with the help of our statewide partners, encourages and supports economic development in every corner of Montana,” said Commerce Department Director Tara Rice. “Montana’s Certified Regional Development Corporations are invaluable resources for strengthening local economies, ensuring that business owners and local officials can get assistance from experts who live and work in their own communities.”

The 11 Certified Regional Development

Corporations (CRDC) allow Montana to take a regional approach to business development. CRDCs help communities and businesses with strategic planning, revolving loan fund management, technical assistance and assistance in applying for and operating state and federal funding programs, including those offered by the Department of Commerce.

The 2019 Montana Legislature reauthorized the CRDC program through HB 52 with broad bipartisan support. The bill provided $625,000 per year over four years, divided between the 11 CRDCs according to a formula that considers the size and population of the regions they serve.

Commerce partners with the CRDCs to provide professional economic development services to local officials, communities, and businesses within their regions. To become a CRDC, each entity must apply for recertification every four years and meet specific criteria to receive funding to continue serving the economic and business needs of each region.

The following organizations have been recertified as CRDCs through December 31, 2023:

•Bear Paw Development Corporation (Havre), serving Liberty, Hill, Blaine, Phillips and Chouteau counties

•Beartooth RC&D Area, Inc. (Joliet), serving Big Horn, Carbon, Stillwater, Sweet Grass and Yellowstone counties

•Eastern Plains Economic Development Corporation (Terry), serving Dawson, Prairie, Wibaux, Fallon and Carter counties

•Great Northern Development Corporation (Wolf Point), serving Valley, Daniels, Sheridan, Roosevelt, Garfield, and McCone counties

•Headwaters RC&D Area, Inc. (Butte), serving Butte-Silver Bow, Jefferson, Granite, Beaverhead, Madison, Powell and Deer Lodge counties

•Lake County Community Development Corporation (Ronan), serving Lake, Mineral and Sanders counties

•Montana Business Assistance Connection, Inc. (Helena), serving Lewis and Clark, Broadwater and Meagher counties

•North Central Montana Economic Development District, Inc. (Sweetgrass Development Corporation, Great Falls), serving Cascade, Glacier, Pondera, Teton and Toole counties

•Prospera Business Network (Bozeman), serving Gallatin and Park counties

•Snowy Mountain Development Corporation (Lewistown), serving Judith Basin, Fergus, Petroleum, Wheatland, Golden Valley and Musselshell counties

•Southeastern Montana Development Corporation (Colstrip), serving Treasure, Rosebud, Custer and Powder River counties

To learn more about Eastern Plains Economic Development Corporation go to epedc.com.

Latest E-Edition

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

1. Be Civil. No bullying, name calling, or insults.
2. Keep it Clean and Be Nice. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
3. Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
4. Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
5. Be Proactive. Let us know of abusive posts. Multiple reports will take a comment offline.
6. Stay On Topic. Any comment that is not related to the original post will be deleted.
7. Abuse of these rules will result in the thread being disabled, comments denied, and/or user blocked.