The Carter County 4-H Shooting Stars hosted their seventh annual Invitational Shoot on Feb. 1, 2020 at the Fallon County Indoor Shooting Range and Fallon County Exhibit Hall. There were 94 4-H youth from Carter, Custer, Fallon, Powder River, Rosebud/Treasure, Stillwater and Wibaux Counties that participated. Numerous individuals and businesses in Carter, Custer, Fallon and Yellowstone County offered their support to the youth involved in the shooting sports program. Additionally, Fallon County 4-H Shooting Sports volunteered their time and knowledge to help with this event. The event would not have been possible without all the volunteers and the community support!

The Carter County 4-H Shooting Sports leaders started this invitational seven years ago because all the 4-H Shooting Sports competitions were on the western side of the state. They thought there would be an interest and the opportunity to host one on the eastern side of the state. It turned out that there was tremendous support from other 4-H Shooting Sports programs and from the 4-H Center in Bozeman. The Invitational is a great opportunity for the 4-H members to practice in a competitive setting before the State Shoot in Bozeman which will be held in March. All youth that competed are a part of their local 4-H Shooting Sports program and have been practicing and learning proper safety procedures throughout the fall and winter. Youth competed in air pistol, air rifle, and archery. The majority of the youth were between 9 and 12 years old, but there were also some very competitive shooters in the older age divisions.

Carter County Shooting Stars are looking forward to next year’s invitational and growing and improving the 4-H Shooting Sports program in Southeastern Montana.

4-H Shooting Sports is the most popular project in Montana, closely follow by livestock projects. 4-H Shooting Sports project help youth learn firearm safety, positive youth development, and life skills. It also is a great opportunity to build youth-adult partnerships. Shooting Sports competitions are intended to provide a friendly learning atmosphere and to promote the 4-H spirit. For more information about 4-H Shooting Sports or the local 4-H program contact your Fallon/ Carter County Extension Office 406-778-7110.

7th Annual Carter County 4-H Shooting Stars Invitational Winners

Air Rifle:

9-10 Year Old Division

1. Allie Haus (Rosebud/Treasure) 167

2. Caden Muscha (Custer) 162

3. Weston Strub (Carter) 162

11-12 Year Old Division

1. Danica Gamble (Rosebud/Treasure) 232

2. Kaylie McCaffree (Rosebud/Treasure) 191

3. Reuben Kinzer (Powder River) 173

13-14 Year Old Division

1. Breelyn McCaffree (Rosebud/Treasure) 245

2. Lilly Harris (Rosebud/Treasure) 229

3. Adisyn Gamble (Rosebud/Treasure) 225

15-19 Year Old Division

1. Cadence Blankenship (Custer) 247

2. Talen Miller (Custer) 242

3. Sidny Scherman (Fallon) 223

Top Rifle Team: Rosebud/Treasure County: (L. Harris, B. McCaffree, A. Gamble, D. Gamble)

Top Overall Rifle Shooter: Cadence Blankenship (Custer)

Air Pistol:

9-12 Year Old Division

1. Hadli Anderson (Custer) 363

2. Kale Dunning (Custer) 356

3. Carson Ostendorf (Custer) 350

13-14 Year Old Division

1. Owen Murray (Custer) 338

2. Jack Layton (Custer) 321

3. Sheldon Johnson (Fallon) 105

15-19 Year Old Division

1. Cadence Blankenship (Custer) 304

2. Garrett Johnson (Wibaux.) 238

Top Pistol Team: Custer Count: (J. Layton, C. Logan, C. Ostendorf, Miles Wacker)

Top Overall Pistol Shooter: Hadli Anderson (Custer)


Bare Bow 9-10 Year Old Division

1. Kade VerWolf (Powder River) 207 X1

2. Roger Beach (Carter) 83

3. Shelby Barnett (Fallon) 35

Bare Bow 11-12 Year Old Division

1. Darren VerWolf (Powder River) 176 1

2. Logan Scherman (Fallon) 152

3. Savannah Gebhardt (Wibaux) 156

Bare Bow 13-14 Year Old Division

1. Vallerie Gebhardt (Wibaux) 79

Bare Bow 15-19 Year Old Division

1. Garrett Johnson (Wibaux) 229 X3

2. Sidny Scherman (Fallon) 204 X2

Bow Hunter 9-10 Year Old Division

1. Weston Strub (Carter) 235 X2

2. Reese Lecoe (Fallon) 229

3. Colyn Higgin (Carter) 228 X1

Bow Hunter 11-12 Year Old Division

1. Trevin Lecoe (Fallon) 261 X1

2. Nicole O’Connell (Carter) 255 X4

3. David Hecker (Wibaux) 243 X1

Bow Hunter 13-14 Year Old Division

1. Greyson Arithson (Powder River) 293 X11

2. Cardell Laughery (Carter) 284 X8

3. Ethan Weinmeister (Treasure) 267 X4

Bow Hunter 15-19 Year Old Division

1. Garrett Johnson (Wibaux) 297 X16

2. Kaydin Trent (Powder River) 279 X2

3. Grafton Bonsell (Carter) 267 X7

Limited 9-10 Year Old Division

1. Tristan Reynolds (Carter) 147

2. Justin Aye (Powder River) 133 X1

3. Colt Jesperson (Carter) 101

Limited 11-12 Year Old Division

1. David Hecker (Wibaux) 234 X2

2. Jefferson Cahoon (Powder River) 186 X1

3. Becca Aye (Powder River) 183 X1

Primitive 9-10 Year Old Division

1. Tucker Standard (Fallon) 76 X1

2. Tatum Alderman (Fallon) 67

Primitive 11-12 Year Old Division

1. Reuben Kinzer (Powder River) 144

2. Morgan Standard (Fallon) 112 X1

3. Mason Standard (Fallon) 97

Primitive 13-14 Year Old Division

1. Kolton Williams (Powder River) 148

Primitive 15-19 Year Old Division

1. Sydney Standard (Fallon) 159

Unlimited 11-12 Year Old Division

1. Corlan Laughery (Carter) 199 X1

Unlimited 13-14 Year Old Division

1. Cardell Laughery (Carter) 287 X7

Unlimited 15-19 Year Old Division

1. Sidny Scherman (Fallon) 290 X14

Top Archery Team: Carter Coounty: (C. Laughery, B. Bonsell, G. Bonsell)

Top Overall Archery Shooter: Garrett Johnson (Wibaux)

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

1. Be Civil. No bullying, name calling, or insults.
2. Keep it Clean and Be Nice. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
3. Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
4. Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
5. Be Proactive. Let us know of abusive posts. Multiple reports will take a comment offline.
6. Stay On Topic. Any comment that is not related to the original post will be deleted.
7. Abuse of these rules will result in the thread being disabled, comments denied, and/or user blocked.