Lady Spartan Tennis team wins Divisionals

The Baker Spartan Tennis Team won first place at the Divisional Tournament which was held in Glendive on May 9-10. Madison Moore and Kelsey Miller took 1st place in doubles.

Tesla Erickson took 2nd place in singles. Lilly Hanson and Paiton Graham took 4th place in doubles. The other tennis players who helped earn points for the team were Camryn Collins, Lena Kennel, and Tai Setinc.

Madison, Kelsey, Tesla and Lilly (as alternate), will advance to the State Tournament in Bozeman May 16-18.

Tesla Erickson played Serenity Tibbits (Wolf Point) and won 6-1, 6-2. Camryn Collins lost to Demi Kegley (Wolf Point) 5-7, 4-7. Lena Kennel won against Rachel Bishop (Forsyth) 6-1, 6-2. Tai Setinc lost to Chloe Shields (Poplar) 2-6, 3-6. Tesla won her second match against Kwyn Colgan (Poplar) 6-2, 6-2. Camryn also won against Kwyn Colgan (Poplar) 10-7. Lena Kennel was defeated by Lindsey Nefzger (Wolf Point) 0-6, 2-6. Tai Setinc won against Darlene MacDonald (Wolf Point) 10-8. Unfortunately, the Baker athletes had to face off in the next two separate matches, the first of which Lena Kennel lost to Tai Setinc 7-10. Tai also defeated Camryn Collins 10-4. Tesla Erickson beat Lindsey Nefzger (Wolf Point) 3-6, 6-2, 6-4. Tai Setinc lost to Chloe Shields (Poplar) in a rematch 3-10. Tesla Erickson was defeated in the championship, taking 2nd place, by Heather Blackwell (Forsyth) 5-7, 6-2, 5-7.

In the doubles bracket, Madison Moore and Kelsey Miller defeated Sydney Cummins and Macey Stump (Poplar) 6-0, 6-0. They went on to play Molly Fraker and Ashley Fraker (Forsyth) and won 6-1, 6-0. They came away with first place in the championship match against Hannah Blackwell and Roxanne Keefer 7-5, 6-1.

Lilly Hanson and Paiton Graham were defeated by Rachel DeLeon and Sasha Youngman (Poplar) 2-6, 3-6. They won against Joy Wolff and Laykin Cantrell (Wolf Point) 10-0. In a rematch against DeLeon and Youngman, they lost 3-10 and took 4th place in the tournament.