District judgeship applications now being accepted

   Chief Justice Mike McGrath has notified the Judicial Nomination Commission that the Hon. George W. Huss, district judge for the Sixteenth Judicial District, will resign his position effective Jan. 1, 2016. The 16th Judicial District covers Carter, Custer, Fallon, Garfield, Powder River, Rosebud, and Treasure Counties.

   The Commission is now accepting applications from any lawyer in good standing who has the qualifications set forth by law for holding the position of district court judge. The application form is available electronically at:

  courts.mt.gov. Applications must be submitted electronically as well as in hard copy. The deadline for submitting applications is 5:00 p.m. Wednesday, December 2, 2015. The Commission will announce the names of the applicants thereafter.

   The public is encouraged to contact Commission members regarding the applicants during the public comment period, which will begin Friday, December 4, 2015, and close Sunday, January 3, 2016.

    The Commission will forward the names of three to five nominees to the governor for appointment after reviewing the applications, receiving public comment, and interviewing the applicants if necessary. The person appointed by the governor is subject to election at the primary and general elections in 2016. The candidate elected in 2016 will serve for the remainder of Judge Huss’ term, which expires January 2019. The annual salary for the position is $126,132.

   The Judicial Nomination Commission members are: District Judge Richard Simonton of Glendive, Elizabeth Halverson of Billings, Hal Harper of Helena, Mona Charles of Kalispell, Lane Larson of Billings, Ryan Rusche of Columbia Falls, and Nancy Zadick of Great Falls.