Montana Cowboy Hall of Fame announces 2015 inductions

   The Montana Cowboy Hall of Fame & Western Heritage Center (MCHF & WHC) recently announced the eighth class of inductions into the Montana Cowboy Hall of Fame. The inductees were chosen from a field of candidates nominated by the general public. Inductees are honored for their notable contributions to the history and culture of Montana.

   “The board of trustees, our volunteer network from around the state, has reviewed this year’s nominations and completed the voting process,” said Bill Galt, White Sulphur Springs rancher and MCHF & WHC president. “This process gives local communities a strong voice in who will represent them in the Montana Cowboy Hall of Fame. The Hall of Fame exists to honor those – famous cowboy or not – who have made an impact in their community and serve as a symbol of Montana’s authentic heritage for future generations.”

   The MCHF & WHC board of directors has designated 12 trustee districts across the state from which up to 20 trustees may be appointed. Nomination criteria established by the board for the class of 2015 inductions allowed the election of up to one living inductee and two legacy inductees from each of the 12 districts. In the case of a tie, winning nominees were jointly inducted.

   The 2015 inductees into the Montana Cowboy Hall of Fame from District 3 (Carter, Custer, Fallon, Powder River, Rosebud and Treasure Counties) are: Living Award – Jack L. “Slug” Mills, Boyes (tie) and Doug Wall, Miles City (tie). Legacy Award – Charles G. Patten, Broadus, and Manly Anderson Moore, Sr., Broadus.

   Since the initial round of inductions to the Montana Cowboy Hall of Fame in 2008, including this year’s inductions, 240 inductees have been honored. Full biographies for past inductees are available on the MCHF & WHC’s website:

   In July, the MCHF & WHC commenced its first phase of construction in the central location of Big Timber with modifications to the Hall of Fame headquarters and the creation of a world-class indoor arena. The arena’s programming will allow the MCHF & WHC to highlight and celebrate the many traditions of our western heritage and cowboy way of life through quality western sporting events.

   For more information about the MCHF & WHC or for more details on the Montana Cowboy Hall of Fame inductees, including other districts, please contact Christy Stensland by calling 406-653-3800, emailing

or visiting: